TPO-41 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Unfortunately, I have to agree with the statement. I always had full respect for my teachers as my parents educated me, but nowadays it seems that teachers have a secondary role in our society.

I believe this because, more and more often, news on TV or on the internet tell us about episodes which students are violent or disrespectful towards their professors. For example, last week there was this video posted on Facebook where a fourteen boy wearing a motorbike helmet was screaming and insulting his professor who was trying to interrogate him, though the worst thing was that everybody else was laughing at this act of bullying. The reaction of the rest of the classroom made me think that probably the new generation has lost the consideration that their teachers deserve.

This situation totally contrasts with my experience, when I was a student I always saw my teachers as important and valuable figures, even when they were severe and were not giving me the votes that I wanted. Above of all I never insulted them or argued with them because they were doing their duty, and none of my schoolmates protested for being interrogated. Furthermore, we all were aware that our parents would have blamed us for a negative judgment from the teachers, as consequence of this we all were fear them. Nowadays instead, if a teacher gives a punishment or a warning to a student in order to make him or her reflecting on his or her mistakes, most of the parents would blame the teacher rather than their children, I firmly believe that this is profoundly wrong and have a negative educational impact on the next generation.

This new tendency probably is due to the fact that internet seems have brought in our life all the knowledge that we need, and the younger parents tend to underestimate the educational role of teachers. However, the reality is that even we have the illusion to know everything through the internet; an advanced and civil society cannot rely only on this superficial and incomplete knowledge but have to be based on real people with experience and large knowledge of topics and teaching strategies. My point of view is that a computer will never competes with a frontal lesson with a real person.