TPO 41 Independent writingDo you agree or disagree with the following statement?Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Throughout history, teachers have had pivotal roles in providing the necessary education for the new generation. They provide valuable insight for their students and pave the way for them to become successful citizens in the future. Therefore, without a shadow of doubt, their job has been indispensable and valued in all societies. The controversial question which arises here is whether teachers' jobs were more praised and worth in the past than they are nowadays. From my vantage point, the argument is true. In the following paragraphs, I will elaborate on my viewpoint though two significant reasons.

The first aspect to point out is that in the past the communities' circumstances were much different from ours. First, education in the past was considered exclusively for special members of society, and ordinary people, who did not have as much wealth and position as they have, were not allowed to study. The importance and value of education also influenced the appreciation of a teacher and everyone, even those powerful authorities, respected a teacher. Moreover, in the past, there were fewer specializations in the subjects and the topics were closed together. Besides, there were less educational institutes to train teachers. Therefore, if anyone wanted to pursue a job as a teacher, he had to undergo difficulties to succeed and he had to have a deep understanding about a variety of subjects in order to be capable of teaching. On the other hand, nowadays, most teachers focus on a certain topic and universities and other special institutes provide the prerequisite information and required training for teachers. Accordingly, as their job is not as much difficult as it used to be, they seem to be less appreciated by society than in the past.

Furthermore, with the advancement of technology and social life, other careers, which are considered of more priority and prestige, have been presented to society. That may cause the society to neglect the importance and value of a job which has the same or even more value like teaching. For instance, in many countries, being a lawyer is considered a high-class job and compared to a teacher, a lawyer’s salary, as well as his respect and appreciation they have in the community, is much more. Moreover, technology has changed the way people acquire information. The mass of books, papers and other forms of information which is easily accessible through the Internet may cause people to think that the community has less need for teachers. Consequently, the public thoughts seem to consider less respect for teachers and since the public thoughts also affect the society, the society would be indirectly influenced.

To recapitulate, all aforementioned reasons lead us to the fact that teachers used to be more appreciated by society in the past. Although the teachers should have the same dignity as in the past, different conditions of social life in the past, as well as the emergence of new jobs in the modern era, have caused the society to consider less appreciation for teachers.