TPO 45: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nobody could deny the pivotal role of parents in all stages of their children's lives as they provide their children with love, affection, and convenient. However, nowadays there is a controversial question which is whether in the past people depended more on their parents to make decisions rather than today or not. Personally, I do believe that nowadays people are more independent than before and mainly rely on themselves to make decisions for their life. There are some apparent reasons which support my claim. In the following paragraphs, I will substantiate my viewpoint through two main reasons.

Regarding this issue, the most prominent point to be mentioned is that comparing the past, nowadays our society, family, and living condition have dramatically changed and it is one of the strong proofs about my assertion. Today, parents are occupied with more tasks than before in order to provide convenience and facilities for their children. Hence, they have limited time to spend with their children and consequently do not know enough about their children's lives in detail. Therefore children can not rely on their parents in making decisions. They have learned from their early ages how to deal with their problems and make a wise decision. However, there are exceptions in some situations. For instance, in some cases like choosing a job young people somewhat depend on their parents as they are a valuable treasure of experience and can share their knowledge with their children and help them to make a rational decision.

Another equally important point coming to my mind is the fact that nowadays young people have a higher level of knowledge and deeper insight into some aspects of life in comparison to youngsters in the past years. This is mainly due to extensive sources of information which are easily available for young people. For instance, nowadays the internet is considered as a great source of information and by surfing through the internet you can find lots of articles about whatever you want. Its a privilege for young people that could help them when they are standing between two or more choices. As a personal example, 4 years ago I was not certain about choosing a proper university to continue my graduate study. I was unable to make a decisive decision. But after a meticulous search through the internet and reading different articles about some universities eventually, I made my decision. It actually helped me to make a wise choice without being depended on my parents.

To sum up, by contemplating the previous paragraphs, it definitely reasonable to draw the conclusion that nowadays youngsters are more independent in making their key decisions as today parents do not know about their children in detail and are much busier than before and also young people have access to different sources of information which have made the decision process for them easier.