TPO 45 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement In the past young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives Use specific reasons and ex

Since the dawn of humans, parents have tried to guide their offspring throughout their life to prosper and flourish. There has been no shortage of debates among individuals on whether, nowadays, parents have more control over their kids’ decision-making than in the past. I vehemently cling to the notion that children are more independent now than ever. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into two of my most prominent reasons for advocating this viewpoint.

The first reason coming to mind, elucidating my standpoint, is concerned with the issue that contemporary young people are more cognizant of their surroundings compared to their parents. To be more specific, with the advent of modern technology, especially the internet, and the ever-increasing pace of its improvements, children have access to a considerable amount of information and knowledge, therefore, they can gain a comprehensive insight into every matter in the most convenient way. As a result, children, specifically juveniles, start to think that they’re wiser than their parents, and they know enough to make decisions for themselves. Technology has created a false sense of wisdom in adolescents, and just because their parents are out of step with the modern world, they think they’re not qualified to decide for them.

Furthermore, another equally compelling reason for corroborating my stance lies in the fact that youths in contemporary society are more stubborn compared to the past. Youngsters used to be more humid and naive back then. Consequently, kids don’t want their parents to control their life. There are a couple of hypotheses that can explain why youths are more stubborn today. One of which is that a plethora of movies and video games in this hectic modern era has influenced their pattern of thoughts, insights, and manners. The main character of these movies is a hero who has rebellious thoughts all the time. After watching these movies, children start to imitate those characters’ thoughts and behaviors. A personal example can drive this notion home. My nephew used to be a solace boy, but as soon as his parents got him a video game console, he has become noticeably more rebellious and doesn’t listen to his parents whatsoever.

To put it all in a nutshell, having all the aforementioned reasons and examples into account, I strongly believe that young people are now more independent in their decisions making, on the ground that they have access to a notable amount of information now and think they’re well aware of everything, as well as they are significantly more stubborn.