TPO 47 Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is important to know about events happening around the world even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life

With the advent of modern technology, especially the internet, and the ever-increasing pace of its improvements, people can become aware of events happening around the globe in the most convenient way. As so, people are faced with a plethora of information every day. There has been no shortage of debates among scholars on whether people should read about the news that doesn't have anything to do with them. I vehemently cling to the notion that individual should enhance their information as they can. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into two of my most prominent reasons for advocating this viewpoint.

The first reason coming to mind, elucidating my stand, is concerned with the issue that even though some news might seem that they have nothing to do with our lives, in the long run, they might affect us. Therefore, we should read about them and prepare ourselves for upcoming effects. By doing so, we can prepare ourselves for possible deleterious repercussions of that event. An example can drive this notion home. Not long ago, an oil transportation ship drowned in the Pacific Ocean. An ordinary person might think that this won't affect his life whatsoever. Surprisingly, due to this accident, the price of gas increased tremendously in Asia. This example clearly illustrates the importance of reading various news, even if it's not directly related to our country.

Furthermore, another equally compelling reason for corroborating my stance lies in the fact that by reading other news, we can develop our cognitive skills and critical thinking. By knowing and learning from events that have occurred around the world, we can learn from their consequences and implant that knowledge into our society. For instance, by reading about a rebel happening in another nation, we can perceive what gave rise to that action, and try to prevent it in our nation in advance. Contemporary human beings need to learn from other people's mistakes. By not reading news occurring in other parts of the world, we're restricting ourselves to just our own experience, and one can not experience everything. If we don't learn from the past, we're condemned to repeat it, and it's crystal clear that this is not the right path to follow.

To put it all in a nutshell, having all the aforementioned reasons and examples into account, I strongly believe that individuals should become aware of different news around the world, on the ground that it might indirectly affect our life, as well as we can learn valuable lessons from them and strengthen our society.