TPO 45 independent writing task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement In the past young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives Use spe

The independence of youngsters are now a public concern. Some people believes that young people are more independent than before while some people argues that they still depend too much on their parents when making decisions. From my standpoint, I agree with the former that the young generations are more independent to make their own decisons than in the past, based on several reasons below.

To begin with, with the development of modern technology, especially the Internet, youngsters tend to look for infromation and advice through the webpages when they are in dilemmas of making decisions. They could gain an easy access to the whole world by using the Internet and search in Google and other search engines for whatever they want. If they can not find a satisfying answer for their problems, there is another kind of website wating for them, Quora. They may write down their dilemmas on Quora and stick tags from various topics based on the types and contents of their problem. Also, they could even invite professionals on each topic of Quora to answer their questions and it is totally free of charge. This is indeed a reliable method to get out of the dilemma of making decisions so that an increasingly number of young people began to use this way to solve their problems. In other words, thay are more likely to make their own decisons with the assistence of some websites rather than looking for help of their parents.

In addition, nowadays younsters can obtain more education than before. In the past, a large portion of young people may drop out from schools in an very early age. Then they might lack sufficient knowledge and experience to make decisions by themselves and were more willing to ask their parents for help. By contrast, young people in this modern era can receive more education so that they have sufficient knowledge and solid skills to make choice by themselves. Also, they may look for suggestions from their teachers and classmates. In this way, they may not depend on their parents frequently as before.

Admittedly, advice from parents who are more experienced than us is also helpful, especially when we are too young to make reasonable decisons. We may follow their suggestions sometimes. However, we could not totally depend on them because their experience may be out of date and they are not always right. Therefore, most youngsters including my friends and classmates are trying to be able to make decisions by themselves.

Judging from all the situations and examples mentioned above, we might easily find that the young generations today have better abilities to make their own decisions than before.