TPO 45- In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives

As a young person, there are times when crucial decisions pertaining to your future should be made. Such decisions, if wrongly made, could make or mar such a person for life. The issue of who makes such decisions is highly controversial. Should such decisions be made by the parents, or by the young people themselves? In the past, felt that their children were not mature enough to take certain important decisions in life. They made the most important decisions in the lives of their youths which cuts across the areas of marriage and career choice. Over the years, young people have advocated for a change of who makes decisions for them. The big question is, if young people are allowed to make certain decisions for themselves, will they be able to make the right decisions? I strongly believe that they will, and I will defend my stand in the trailing paragraphs.

Firstly, in the past, parents were responsible for choosing marriage partners for their children. Because it was regarded as the norms, the young people did not have the privilege of objecting to the decisions of their parents. They had to accept whoever their parents chose as their 'ideal' life partner. However, in recent years, the decision of who chooses a marriage partner is moving away from the hands of the parents into the hands of the young people themselves. Now, we see a drastic drop in the amount of reported cases of marriage failures and dissatisfaction. This effortlessly abates all fears as to whether young people are capable of making the right decisions for themselves.

Also fractious is the debate of who takes the decisions of their career choice. In past, young people depended on their parents to choose a career for them. Such parents tended to make decisions based on their own preference without considering the passion of their children. But, in recent years, young people have been encouraged by psychologists to make decisions concerning their choice of career. Young people who adhered to such advice have been confirmed to be happier while studying their desired courses, and also while working in their dream fields.

To sum up, I strongly believe that when young people are allowed to make their decisions themselves, they make better choices.