TPO-46 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In today's world, renowned people such as actors and athletes have been highly praised by society and also play an important role in leading a society. With this in mind, a heated controversy exists as to whether famous people are more important to younger people or older people. In my point of view, younger people are more prone to be affected by celebrities' opinion for some reasons. Two of them will be discussed in the following paragraphs.

The first reason that should be mentioned to support my side why ideas of celebrities are crucial for young people is that the young people are more independent and are more eager to follow someone; therefore, who would be better than celebrities to be followed by young people. The more eager and independent individuals are, the more possible they are to follow someone. Take my personal experience as an example. Since I was studying at high school and I could be able to vote for choosing a president for my country, all celebrities have been supporting a specific candidate among them were some celebrities which I supported them. No wonder was it to accept their opinions, and finally, I voted to the chosen candidate. In contrast, my parents and my siblings who are older than me stayed on their opinions and voted for their candidate

The other equal reason that I want to assert in order to hold my view about the tendency of juvenile people who the idea of celebrities is important for them is that the adolescent people want to support celebrities as a hobby. In nowadays, all societies are struggling with some political and economic issue, so young people who want to overcome this tough occasion are more willing to busy and amuse themselves by supporting and following celebrities and pursue their activities whether in real life or in social media. A research, which has been done by a renowned university in Iran, reveals that most majorities of young people are being affected by celebrities opinions because young people observe the activity of celebrities. Moreover, the young people were asked about the reason or reasons which caused them to follow and support the celebrities, nearly all of them answered that we wanted to release ourselves from our problem. Old people, in contrast, usually concentrate on the problem to come up with a solution; therefore, for them, the celebrities and their opinions are not important.

all in all, by taking all the aforementioned reasons and examples into account, one can conclude that the views of famous people are more important for young people that older people because not only are the independent and more eager to follow someone, but also they want to redirect their mind from problems that are struggling with.