TPO-47 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

In today's world, all people have been trying to access the news and event are being happened all around the world. With this in mind, a heated controversy exists as to whether it is crucial to know about events happening around the world even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life. Some people believe that it is effective to focus just on the event which is related to themselves, while others do not agree with them. I, personally, think that it is beneficial to be informed about all news and event which are happening around the world for some reasons, two of which are having knowledge always is an advantage and individuals can evaluate their life, will be substantiated in the following paragraphs.

The first reason which comes to my mind in order to support my idea why knowing about events happening around the word is important is that if an individual has any knowledge, it will help you in some situation. Being informed about news and event provide an opportunity for people to make a right decision even though events have not had any effect on their own lives. It is my personal experience that illustrates this fact clearly. Since I was at university, some events including political and economic issues have been occurring in some European countries. At that moment those events had not any effect on my daily life, but I could learn quite a few things about this event which helped me 2 years later. When I was about to select one university for my higher education, I decided to choose the countries in which those sort of event has not happened. Therefore, this decision paves the way for me to reach my goal in terms of being in the calm and stable country.

The other equally reason to support my claim that knowing about events is important even if they do not affect people's lives is that by knowing about the news, people are capable of evaluating their lives and compare their own lives with foreign' people. The more individuals know about news and events, the more they try to be better in terms of living level. The research recent which is done by a renowned university in Iran has been revealed that the people who are more aware of events and news happening around the world are more satisfied with their life, and also they try to receive their goals in life because they think that there are not far-fetched goal in this hectic life. Therefore, the most profound impact of knowing about news is that people can be familiarized with other people's goal and know about their life

All in all, by taking all the aforementioned reasons and examples, one can conclude that it is undeniable to know about events happening around the world because not only have people know about this event help them but also they can evaluate their life and be a successful person who reaches their goals.