TPO 47 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is important to know about events happening around the world even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life

Historically speaking, prehistoric people constantly was trying to understand their surroundings to survive. Thus, their desire to gain knowledge and comprehension about the world has passed through genes to the next generations. Regarding this, there is a heated controversy as to whether it is still important to know about the events happening all over the world or not. I, personally, subscribe to the former notion and I have two reasons, among which making an adaptation to avoid disasters and help other people in hardship is the most conspicuous.

First, although some events in a different continent seem unlikely to have a direct effect on our current lives, they may change our lifestyle in near future and we must be well-prepared. Thus, people should have a thorough understanding of the consequences of events happening. For instance, the Coronavirus first emerged in China and just adversely changed the lifestyle of Chinese people, not other individuals. After a few days, however, casualties increased dramatically. Therefore, countries whose people were following the news in China could take immediate measures to prevent the prevalence of the disease. In spite the fact that the pandemic was inevitable, the virus would have taken a heavier toll if people had not paid attention. Moreover, people by gaining vast knowledge about incidents that have happened can avoid making the same mistake again, which may cause massive irreparable losses. For Instance, the catastrophe of Chornobyl has alerted other nations to improve the safety of their nuclear stations.

Secondly, some events may just have an impact on a few people, yet we, as human beings, are analogous to a whole body. When an organ is in pain the whole body would lose its functionality. If one person realizes that poverty-stricken people are suffering in another country from malnutrition, he or she would restlessly try to improve the situation. They try to help through financial support, volunteer activities, or informing other people in order to rise awareness, to name but a few. Hence, reading the news constantly plays a crucial role to seize adverse circumstances and make the world a better place to live. A great example of what I mentioned is the death of George Floyd in the United States. Afterward, people all around the world protested to stop discrimination against black people, even though they were not black, not did they live in America.

With all the above-mentioned reasons taken into account, it stands to reason that knowing about happenings around the world is of great consequence not only to prevent repeated mistakes but also to help others. Therefore, I am of the opinion that people, especially relevant authorities, should continuously watch and read the news so as to boost their knowledge in this regard, taking immediate action for improvement.