TPO 47- independent agree or nor: it is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life

By the advent of electricity industry and its evolution a century ago, there have been myriad news' means introduced all around the world which have been affecting daily lives of people. In this context, there are mutually exclusive ideas regarding whether following all news internationally is beneficial and substantial or not. From my point of view, I am inclinded to the notion that following them is completely a waste of time although some may disagree with me. My answer to this debating bone of contention is twofold. In the following, The rationale behind it will be elaborated by the most outstandin, solid proofs.

The first and foremost reason which is worth mentioning is that as we do not have any influence on the phenomena happening some where else, following their related news is not useful. Deby Ford, on of the greatest modern psychologists, says that thinking about the things that you do not have a control on will cause stress which prevents you from living a healthy life. Thus, it is not plausible to read and watch news from other countries. To put it into a more vivid picture, my uncle, Hamid, has grown a bad habit of following the most stressful and disasterous terrors, and negative news from Telegram, a social media application. He does nothing but being worried; therefore, his blood pressure is too high and his hands always shake becuase of the stress he undergoes every day. Provided that the news have a significant effect on your lives, it will worth it to follow them.

The second and equally far-reaching explanation to bear in mind is that watching and reading news from diverse means, such as television and newspapers, consumes a lot of an individual's precious time. One can allocate that time to do other more valuable things instead of wasting on useless horrible news. As an illustration, Norwegian people are not used to watching news and spend that amount of time reading useful books. This notion has helped them to develop a healthy life style all around Norway. In contrast, Egyptians are always watching BBC news at least for four hours per day. This notion, as their researchers have concluded, will have caused a decrease in their country's profitability level for at least 10% by the end of 2050. If people stop following unrelated news like what Norwegians do, not only they will tend to use their times more efficiently, but also their countries will have an increase in their productivity.

In conclusion, taking all the aforementioned rationalizations into account, I believe following unrelated news is nothing but a waste of time although there are some exceptions which can be excluded from the general rule. To recapitulate my opinion, neither does this action help people to have a healthier life and decrease their daily stress, nor do countries profit from having a high rate of productivity and efficiency, mainly because their citizens are wasitng most of their times.