TPO-47 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

I disagree with this statement. I believe that is not important to know what is happening around the world, because it is more important to focus only on what is happening in our own country.

To begin with, it is well known that the news on television is most of the time bad news, they usually reporting about wars, conflicts and dead people. These are the kind of news negatively affects my attitude and my mood. For example, one day I was watching the BBC news on TV and they were reporting about a journalist most probably murdered because she was working on a case of corrupted politicians. This news really made upset for the rest of my day, I could not stop to think in what horrible world we live, and the fact that we cannot do anything about it, it is how the world goes. This is one reason why I believe that knowing about what happening around the world it is not so important.

Second, nowadays people are always in a harsh and do not have much time to get informed about everything is happening in the world. We have limited time it is better to inform about what is happening near us rather than about countries that lay on the other side of the world. For example, it is more useful knowledge about the weather before we go to work, in this way we can properly choose our clothes and do not take the risk to get sick because we did not bring an umbrella with us. And, maybe if the road that leads us to the place where we work it is blocked for a car accident, or simply be informed about the traffic before to go to an important job interview.

Finally, sometimes we are not even able to judge if news is true or is a fake news, because most of the time we do not know much about the real situation in other countries, whereas we can readily recognize a fake news when they are reporting facts from places near us and that we know very well. These are the reasons why I do not consider knowing about world event it is not so important to me; they most of the time are bad news, I do not have much time to follow them and because I cannot really recognize if they are fake news, because they reporting facts from places that I do not much about.