TPO-49 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

For many people, the number of friends at Facebook is a kind of social currency to display how likeable he or she is. In addition, there is no shortage of debate whether it is better to have the ability uphold friendships with a small number of friends or make friends with large number of people very easily. In my opinion, however, it is better to have the ability to maintain social connections over a long period. I feel this way for two main reason, which I will explore in the following essay.

First, friendships over a long time is more rewarding than anything else. Long-term friends give you the feeling of comfort and safety to talk about very private topics openly. Moreover, the moment when your friend and yourself reached the point, where you do not even have to talk with him/her to understand each other is so valuable. My own experience is a compelling example of this. Since the kindergarten, I had a very good friend with whom I could talk about every topic and aspect of my life. Before everyone else, including my family, he knew the name of my first crush, the reasons of my break up with my first girlfriend and many more private topics. However, last year, our friendship broke because of his new girlfriend and my stupidity. Thus, I look sometimes back and miss this feeling of 15 years of pure understanding. For this reason, I am striving for long-lasting friendships with my current accompanies to experience this feeling again.

Second, having the ability to maintain a friendship for a long time shows people in your surrounding that you are very loyal, which is found very rarely in todays world. Therefore, you did not even need the ability to approach other people easily, because they will come to you and want to know you better due to your ability. For instance, during my first college year, my current girlfriend approached me because she adored my ability for maintaining long-lasting friendships. Furthermore, I got a lot of appreciation in the society, whenever I told them that I have still good friends from the kindergarten time. Accordingly, the ability to uphold long-friendships is much appreciated than the ability to make easily friends.

Due to above-mentioned reasons, I firmly believe that it is more beneficial to have the ability to maintain friends, especially because of the comforting and safe feeling of a long friendship and the appreciation from the society to have such an amazing ability.