tpo 50Do you agree or disagree with the following statement:All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, almost all universities suggest a wide range of courses that are not obligatory /mandatory/ for students. In this regard, personally, I am prone to believe that history is important for every /each/ student regardless of the area of specialty /major in which a student specializes in/. I hold this opinion since this discipline is an indispensable part of our general education; and it is a prerequisite for becoming a better specialist.

To begin with, historical courses are essential for the general development since history is often the key for understanding the reality and predicting the future. Among other things it reveals the cause-and-effect relationship between two phenomena and, thus, explains their nature. For example, as members of society all of us are interested in political events that occur in our countries, and, therefore, we often analyze them to understand what is waiting us in future. However, the mentioned analysis would be incomplete if we do not pay due attention to the causes and possible historical links of the current events. So, history is necessary for intelligent approach toward the real life and its better understanding.

Additionally, learning events that occurred in the past is necessary for professional development and growth. This is due to the fact that history, in particular, reveals the patterns of social relations. For example, I am lawyer whose specialty is the Constitutional law – a subject which explores the basic principles of foundation and functioning of states. I have studied this subject for about 10 years and can assure everyone that without learning the legal history in general, I would not have been able to succeed in my career and fully comprehend the peculiarities of modern constitutional states. Thus, history is essential in any field of research and expertize.

To sum up briefly, learning history helps us become full members of societies /where/ we live in. The explanation to this is twofold: first, history spreads light to the reality; and, second, it is a crucial element of our professional education.