TPO 46- Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answ

It is generally agreed that celebrities influence young people more than older people. In this regard, personally, I am prone to believe that the viewpoints of celebrities have more weight for youngsters as compared to adults /than they have for adults/. I hold this opinion since young people are not matured enough to have independent views; and celebrities are at the center of their attention.

To begin with, people are not fully mentally developed at young age, and they need time to be able to make decisions by themselves. This is explained by the fact that young people do not possess required experience and knowledge, and, therefore, their primary social role is to get education. Not only do we acquire knowledge and skills at schools and colleges, but we also become more matured and develop independent thinking and analyzing abilities. For example, many years ago as a child at school I learned to read, to write, to communicate with other children. At university, on the other hand, I started to better understand the life, became more experienced and more able to make decisions on my own. So, young people need time to acquire the necessary for forming independent views knowledge and experience.

Additionally, at young age people are used to mimic thoughts and behaviors of the ones who are visible enough. In this regard, celebrities are often role models for their fans since they have fame and are shown on TV frequently. Children get used to and admire them since famous people occupy the minds and thoughts of youngsters. For instance, when I was a child I was admired by famous athlete Bruce Lee and his roles in movies. He was a celebrity who was cited by nearly each child at my school and his fame made me his fan. This in turn was a prerequisite for following his ideas and opinions expressed in the movies with his participation, and I knew his all expressions made in the films. Thus, the fame of celebrities makes children follow them.

To sum up briefly, the more we know, the less we are prone to follow the opinions of other people. However, children are influenced by celebrities because they are not matured enough, and because the fame of celebrities is extremely attractive for young people.