TPO 34Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Educating children is a more difficult task today than it was in the past because they spend so much time on the cell phone, online games, and social networking Web site.Use specific reasons and

It is generally believed that nowadays children spend more and more time on /using/ technological gadgets, and they underestimate the importance of other activities such as studying. In this regard, personally, I am prone to believe that in modern life it is harder to educate children. I hold this opinion since more children become addicted to video games every day; social networking makes them anxious and nervous; and other technological gadgets take their whole attention.

To begin with, video games develop addiction and ruin our kids’ lives since they miss their classes and generally do not want to do anything but playing day and night. There is no end to playing and that is why many parents simply forbid their children to play online games and try to substitute them, for instance, by forcing them to attend school. For example, practically every /each/ day my son solemnly promises not to play too long; however, after getting permission to play for an hour or two, he forgets his promises and sits in front of the computer for the whole day. So, electronic games harm child’s normal life being and their educational process, too.

Additionally, the social networking is another disaster for youngsters. They spend all their time in computers to chat with virtual friends, to give virtual gifts, and so on. This is proved to be an involving process which also harms our kids’ mental health as they become anxious, nervous and these have negative impact on their education, as well. For instance, I recently read an article in a newspaper according to which the vast majority of slow pupils are the ones who spend too much time in front of their computers. The author was warning to strictly keep children away from computers and social networking. Thus, our kids’ are not matured yet to be able to use them without harm to their health.

Finally, all kind of technological gadgets, cell phones, kindles, and so on, are taking all the attention of our children since they are attractive, innovative and fashionable. Technological companies spend billions of dollars to attract the attention of youngster since they are very consistent consumers. For example, my daughter does not miss her chance to buy all the versions or models of iPhone cell phones whereas there is little difference between them. So, what is most important for the children is to own the newest gadgets and to spend all their free time in them. This is also a form of addiction which naturally limits children’s attention to other activities and especially to studying.

To sum briefly, new technology has changed the life of our children, too. However, their limitless use is disadvantageous for their education since they become addicted to them, acquire mental disorders and concentrate their all attention on them.