Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Although it is generally believed that teachers share their life experience with their students, the question remains to what extent their social and political ideas should be known to students. In this respect, some people think that those views should be concealed from students. Meanwhile, many others argue that professors' ideas on social and political matters are important for students to know. Personally, I am prone to believe that the views under consideration may be conveyed to students. I hold this position for several reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, students are expected to have knowledge not only on their disciplines, but also on social-political issues. This is due to the fact that education at universities and high-schools precedes the adult life, when young people have to understand broader issues in order to succeed. My own experience is a compelling example of this. Thus, when I graduated from the university and received a job in a legal company, I had to communicate with clients not only in terms of professional matters, but also in a broader sense. So, thanks to my previous education and my professors' approach to let us know broader political and social issues, I succeeded in my legal career in the mentioned legal company.

Also, our tutors' willingness to share with us their attitudes contribute to the development of our disputing abilities. In my view, it is very important to stimulate students to discuss various questions during the classes. Consequently, when that kind of discussion takes place, students learn how to develop an approach, how to support it, and so on. For instance, my professor of history was always sharing with us her opinion on the historical issues, and specifically on the matters related to politics. As a result, we were arguing with each other and learned a lot of useful skills.

To sum up briefly, it is a fact that the primary function of educational institutions is to give knowledge on the taught subjects. At the same time, tutors' personal views are very useful, too. Its explanation is twofold: first, students become better prepared for their future careers, and, second, it helps learners develop important abilities and skills.