Do you agree or disagree with the statement that governments should spend more money to improve internet access not on public transportation?

It is generally agreed that the Internet has become an indispensable part of our reality, and it is hardly possible to live a full life without having access to it. In this regard, personally, I am prone to believe that public transportation system improvement is not the highest priority of any state government’s policy, and, therefore, the development and access to technologies like the Internet is more important. I hold this opinion since the World Wide Web is a source of knowledge; and the Internet improves the quality of life of millions of people.

To begin with, the Internet has created opportunity for educating people at the various corners of the world, and in that sense it is one of the efficient tools of increasing the level of education all over the world. People nowadays have a possibility to get knowledge and skills sitting in their homes in any country of the Earth. For example, I live in Armenia, a country which is located in South Caucasus; however, I can take online courses at the Harvard University and increase the level of my proficiency. Thus, the Internet, without exaggeration, is vital for human development, and the more people have access to it, the more will change positively the picture of the world.

Additionally, new technologies like the Internet are crucial measures for the evolving of political, social and economic aspects of any state. This is explained by the fact that it provides technological solutions to problems which humanity had not been able to resolve until the invention of the Internet. For instance, in my country it could be hardly imagined that the spheres of economy may evolve without the Internet since it not only does connect various parts of economy together, but also provides new ways and forms of doing business. Consequently, the broad availability of the Internet is vital for all spheres of our lives.

To sum up briefly, public transportation is surely important part of our everyday life; however the Internet is an undisputed priority. The explanation to this is twofold: first, it provides opportunities in the educational sphere; and, second, without wide access to the Internet the political, social and economic spheres of our lives cannot evolve.