TPO 37 Do you agree or disagree with the following statements? Because people are busy doing so many different things, they do very few things well. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I definitely agree with the statement that doing few things is a better option since it keeps you concentrated on the things that are important rather than on several not fundamental matters. This is true in terms of getting education, doing professional career and living a happier life.

To begin with, students generally prefer to focus on one subject rather than to learn all academic disciplines in a row. This is due to the fact that learning one thing is vital for getting deep and comprehensive knowledge in that particular field. Furthermore, it is a necessary precondition for finding a job after the graduation as there is a harsh competition in the labor market nowadays and only narrow specialists have a chance to be employed without difficulties. For example, when I was a student I preferred to concentrate my efforts in the field of Constitutional law and that helped me a lot afterward since after graduation I got an offer from the Comparative Law Center which needed specialists with deep knowledge in particular law related areas. Thus, specialization is important for students who are to choose their academic route.

Additionally, it is generally agreed that experts in narrow fields of knowledge are valued most of all. Its explanation is quite simple: there a lot of people with higher education nowadays as compared to the recent past and those of them who have superiority over other specialists have chances to succeed. And since it is not feasible to be an expert in many fields professionals with narrow specialization are more demanded. For instance, a friend of mine with whom we studied together at university dedicated his career to the field of Criminal Procedure, and he even performed his PhD in the same area and started to teach the subject to youngsters. As a result, he became a well-known expert with acknowledged academic credentials and a full member of professional community.

Finally, to live a happy life it is important to have priorities which will guide a person through his life. In that sense it is equally important to know what to do, what a person likes, what are his or her principles – things without which the life of any person is a nightmare. If one does not realize what is important and what is not he or she will do senseless things. For example, my nephew is a kind of person who has no values and priorities in his life. He doesn’t know what to do during a day, when he grows older, and so on. That is why all his relatives try to help him find his place in the life. So, certainty is a key to happiness.

To sum up briefly, it is up to every person to do what he or she wants to. However, there is no success without clarity in education, professional and private life.