Advertisements do not convey correct information about products.

Advertising is a means of communication with the users of a good or service. Personally, I am prone to believe that advertisements are not always the true description of a product, but rather exaggerations of their genuine qualities. I hold this opinion since commercials are aimed at promoting products; they are financed by the businesses themselves; and they conceal the defects of the products.

To begin with, businesses seek ways for selling their products irrespective of its' /their/ true qualities. The whole idea of entrepreneurship is based on making profit and, consequently, commercials also serve to that idea. For example, the car manufacturing company which is located in my homeland produces about 1,000 cars a year, and it should do its best to sell all of them. That is why the company pays due attention to the advertising of its products since this is one of the most effective means for promoting products.

Additionally, commercials are paid by the producers of goods and services. This fact explains why the products which are being advertised are described with some exaggeration of their real qualities. Although in democratic societies commonly there is legislation which envisages rules related to the content of advertisements, those rules in fact are vague and cannot exclude some exaggeration of the products' features. For instance, in my country the relevant laws are adopted with the aim to prevent advertising merchandise which may harm the health of our citizens. Thus, the legislation cannot prevent the commercials from being not in line with the genuine characteristics of the products which are being advertised.

Finally, advertisements usually hide the shortcomings of the products; we face this fact all over the world. This is due to the companies fear to lose their place in the market since the competition between businesses increases all the time. For example, the emergence of a new company which manufactures the same products as another company does forces the latter not only to increase the quality of the product and to decrease its price, but also to conceal the defects that product has. Thus, sometimes, competition makes advertising a means for cheating the consumers.

To sum up briefly, advertising is a necessary thing in market economy. However, it is not always a source of a true description of products since commercials are aimed at promoting goods and are sponsored by the manufacturers themselves. Moreover, they even hide flaws of products to sustain competition in the market.