If people have the opportunity to get a secure job, they should take it right away rather than wait for a job that would be more satisfying

Although it is generally believed that a person should work in order to feel comfortable as a member of society, the question remains whether one has to grab any chance in that respect, or to wait for the best opportunity. Personally, I believe that people should not lose an opportunity to get a job irrespective of its possible drawbacks. I feel this way for several reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, waiting for a better occupation will cost money. It is obvious that it may take some time, and in some cases months or years to find a rewarding job. Consequently, the subsequent waiting period is a lost time in terms of earning money, which is unacceptable. My own experience is a compelling example of this. After I quitted my first job, I had to wait for nearly a year to find a new one. All that period of time I was short of money, a fact that embarrassed me a lot.

Also, it should be mentioned that any work is a good possibility to "sharpen the saw", or, in other words, to improve one's skills. It is explained by the fact that each job has its functions to fulfill on a systematic basis and under the employer's control. That in turn forces people to work hard, consistently, and therefore to develop their abilities. For instance, my brother is a well-known doctor, who, however, once had to work as a worker on factory. His duties were connected with packaging the production in boxes - a routine, which helped him a lot in his doctor's career.

Finally, apparently any actual work helps to find a new and a better work. It is due to the fact that potential employers always pay attention to this issue. So, if a person does not work for a while, the prospective employer may avoid hiring him or her. The relevant studies also indicate this issue. Thus, according to the survey conducted by the National Labor Center employers are prone to hire employees who already possess a position. This is explained by their assumption that a person who does not work may have some problems that will not let them work in a satisfying manner.

To sum up briefly, it is a fact that working is better than waiting for a better possibility. Its explanation is threefold: first, working person earns money, second, any occupation is a chance to improve one's skills, and, third, the chances to find a suitable job are higher for a person who already holds a job.