TPO 36- Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?For the successful development of a country, it is more important for a government to spend money on the education of very young children(five to ten years old) than to spend money on universit

Education is crucial for the development of any country, and the question of implementing right policy in this sphere is one of the hardest for the national governments. In this regard, personally I am prone to believe that national state bodies should spend money on universities rather than on the development of education of kids. I hold this opinion since financing the higher educational institutions provides for predictability of the state policy; it is a common practice in the world; and education is not the most important thing for very young children.

To begin with, every state is obliged to draft and implement effective policy in the field of education. In this regard, it is generally agreed that it is better to spend money on financing universities. This is explained by the fact that people who graduate from universities contribute to the advances in all spheres of the life of the society, especially to the economy. Thus, knowledge and skills that are learnt in universities are the driving force of the economy of any country. For instance, in my country the shift to the market economy in the beginnings of the 1990s was incorporated by the young people who had just graduated from colleges and initiated those reforms in our economy. Thus, the future of any state is closely linked to the level of higher education and, therefore, to the level of financing of relevant educational institutions.

Additionally, the vast majority of the UN member states prioritize the higher education. This, in turn, means that experts in various countries have come to a conclusion that universities are more important for the development of states. Moreover, the UN itself adopted some international documents that support the mentioned statement; all relevant international instruments highlight the cause-and-effect relationship between the possible advances in the lives of people and the level of the higher education. For example, one of the pillars of the policy of the reduction of the poverty worldwide, according to the UN legal sources, is the involvement of more and more youngsters in higher educational institutions. Furthermore, there is some convincing statistical data in this regard which is used by regional international organizations, as well. So, the history of the world itself reveals the influence of higher education on prosperity of a mankind.

Finally, kids need special care in all societies, but this care is not limited to their education. This is due to the fact that kids need more attention from their parents, families than from the state or educational entities. The very young age is the period when kids need to understand what is good and what is wrong, what is more important and what is less, and so on. Moreover, in this age they need all the love of their families to grow up as self-confident persons and full members of society. All this is primarily provided by the families and cannot be substituted by any other means. For example, to my great regret, in my country those kids who are brought up in orphanages as a rule have difficult future. In general, they have social disorders, often are violent and even have physical health problems. So, these are indications of the fact that kids need care and love more than education.

To sum up briefly, it is a fact that our lives to a great extent are predetermined by the level of higher education since there is a clear link between the level of education and the prosperity of the society.