For success in a future job it is more important to relate well with others than to study hard in school

The success in career depends on various factors. In this regard, some people think that good communication skills are a decisive factor. Meanwhile, many others argue that the importance of knowledge gained at the university prevails over other circumstances. Personally, I am prone to believe that studying hard in school or at university is the most significant factor leading to successful career. I hold this opinion for several reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, knowledge that we gain at university may be obtained by no other means than studying hard. Many people may have experience or inherited communicative skills, which are also essential for success. However, knowledge is gained only through education. That in turn gives us relative advantage over other people, who do not have it. For instance, when I first started to work many of my colleagues were much more experienced as compared to me. But the fact that I learned better gave me advantage over them. So, studying hard is the key to success.

Also, studying well develops some important skills that other workers do not have. Skills such as consistency and commitment are indispensable elements for career growth. My own experience is a compelling example of this. Studying day and night shaped my character, and I became a more disciplined person. Thanks to this I was the most successful lawyer in the legal company where I worked for a while. Thus, skills obtained at the university helped me succeed.

Finally, high grades we get at university helps us find a job. This is explained by the fact that employers pay much attention to the prospective employees’ grades, and hire those ones who have proved to be good students. The relevant studies confirm this claim, too. For example, the research conducted by Harvard University Human Resources Center shows that the students who graduated with honors find a job within three months after leaving university. Meanwhile, other students are being hired within a period of time from six months to one year. So studying well is essential for success.