Television advertising directed toward young children should not be allowed

Although it is generally agreed that young children need to be adapted to adult life gradually, the question remains whether some form of external influence on them should be limited or restricted. Personally, I am prone to believe that such phenomena as advertising targeting in particular kids should not be allowed. I hold this opinion for several reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, children between the ages of two and five are mentally vulnerable to external impacts. Their psyche is fragile and, therefore, needs special care and protection. This, among other things, implies that kids should be isolated from various phenomena that can potentially harm their mental health. For example, when I was a child my parents never allowed me to watch TV with the exception of certain TV programs specifically designed for children. They were sure that watching TV would harm me mentally, and they were not mistaken. Advertising was making me anxious and nervous.

Additionally, commercial misguides kids. This is explained by the fact that advertising convinces that children need this very product irrespective of its actual qualities. My children's experience is a compelling example of this. Under the influence of advertising they are demanding soda, chips and chocolate in tremendous quantities. Whenever my wife and I refuse to buy the above mentioned items, we become bad parents for them.

Finally, advertising makes children consumers. They don't understand whether they really need this product or not. Moreover, kids do not realize that they can live a happy life without this or that product. For instance, my younger sister was not able to imagine her life without Barby dolls, which were been widely advertised when she was a child. All her actions and behavior were influenced by that dolls - a fact my parents were concerned about.

To sum up briefly, there is no doubt that advertising for children is not an acceptable thing. Its explanation is threefold: advertising may harm children's mental health, it provides incorrect information to them, and it prevents kids from analyzing the qualities of goods, thereby transforming them into consumers.