Successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they know how to do well.

Success depends on various factors. In this regard, some people think that in order to succeed one should try to do new things. Meanwhile, many others argue that taking risks is not the best way for achieving one's goals. Personally, I am prone to believe that we should always seek new things in our lives and should never be satisfied by what we have or what we know. I hold this opinion for several reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, trying new things allows us to gain knew knowledge and experince. Whenever we do something new, we learn how to do that, we try to forsee consequences of our actions, and so on. That in turn is the key to success. For instance, when I first started my career in a legal company, I knew my responsibilities very well, and did not have to work hard. However, I was always trying to do something new, to learn more. As a result, I was recognized as one of the best lawyers in the company. So, doing something new is a means to learn and become more experienced.

Also, doing new things helps us to maintain our success. Some people stop setting goals when they reach success. However, success may be temporary. So, if we stop doing new things, we may lose everything we have. My cousin's experience is a compelling example of this. When he graduated from university and found his first job, he stopped learning, setting new goals. As a result he lost his job and had to start everything from the beginning. Thus, setting goals and trying new things to achieve them is a necessary precondition for success.

To sum up briefly, if we want to be successful, we have to do new things /during/ all our lives. Its explanation is twofold: first, new things help us gain new knowledge and experience, and, second, they allow us to preserve our achievements.