The extended family is less important now than in the past.

It is generally agreed that the world has changed significantly during the last decades and these changes also made us less connected with our extended families. Personally, I am prone to believe that we pay less importance to our relations with our close relatives than we did in the past. I hold this opinion since nowadays people are more focused on their careers and they have less free time.

To begin with, each person tries to succeed in his or her profession. Success in the professional career means more than a possible promotion since it opens doors to a more comfortable life with higher salaries, more friends, and so on. Overall, we will not be mistaken if we argue that efficiency in the work increases the social status of a person. For example, I work as a lawyer in a legal company for many years. I had a lot of achievements in my work and as a result I am now the leading legal consultant of the company. This in turn makes me an important person not only in the firm, but also in my community, where all try to get my advice on various issues. So, professional career takes to much time from us and gets more and more importance in our life.

Additionally, we have merely no time to communicate with our grandparents, cousins, aunts and uncles. The life is very dynamic nowadays. We may need to be in the other part of the world by business issues, or to get new education to attract potential employers and so on. For instance, my wife is a PhD student, and she tries to receive her extra education in order to be able to compete with other professionals in her field. Thus, our daily obligations, daily routine or future plans take a lot of time from us.

To sum up briefly, our interests, needs, and values have changed a lot. Nowadays we are less connected to our close relatives that we used to be in the recent past. This is because we are more concentrated on our personal needs and our personal interests than we were a few decades ago.