TPO 54- Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

There is no doubt that arts play a significant role in the lives of our societies since they enrich people spiritually. However, personally, I am prone to believe that athletics in particular and sports in general need more attention of the national governments in particular through providing public finance for their permanent development. I hold this opinion since sports make people healthier; and taking care of the health of population transforms to /into/ international obligation of modern states.

To begin with, sport /s/ activities are essential from the perspective of securing the health of population, and any state should be interested in financing activities which are aimed at their development. This is due to the fact that exercising trains human body thanks to which it operates better and longer. For example, I am fond of tennis and I like to play it outdoors, especially on a grass surface tennis court. This is a dynamic and active sport /s/ inasmuch as it trains all my muscles and makes me fit. Thanks to playing tennis regularly I am in a good shape without any diseases and the need to take medicines or visit doctors. So, playing sports is prerequisite of our healthy lives, and state support in this field is crucial.

Additionally, international community is more and more focused on preserving health of people, and thus it requires national governments to actively support sport activities all over the world. During the last decades international instruments were drafted so that states become legally bound to allocate financial resources with the account of the necessity to stimulate active life of people. For instance, European Social Charter on Human Rights place obligations upon its member states to provide sufficient financial resources for creating sport facilities. Furthermore, it stipulates the right of children to development which, among other things, implies states’ efforts to involve kids in sport activities. Thus, national states have legal obligations to spend money in the area under consideration.

To sum up briefly, sports are an indispensable element of our lives and need state support. The explanation to this is twofold: first, it makes us healthier; and, second, national state bodies are obliged internationally to spend money in this sphere.