Technology has made children less creative than they were in the past.

Although technological innovations have improved our life significantly, the question remains whether they have negative implications. Personally, I am prone to believe that technology actually makes our children less creative. I hold this opinion for several reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, children spend more time watching TV than they were spending in the past. This is because there are a lot of programs and shows that attract kids and make them increasingly dependent on these programs and shows. This dependency keeps them away from activities, which develop their creativity. For instance, my son watches TV all the day long instead of painting, singing and doing other things that would have positive influence on his creative thinking. So, basically, the development of the TV prevent them from exercising their mental abilities.

Additionally, the Internet and devices providing access to it are another obstacle for developing children's creative characteristics. This is explained by the fact that children explore the world around them mainly through the Internet. Meanwhile, when we were children we were using our thoughts and senses directly to discover the events and phenomena of the real life. My own experience is a compelling example of this. When I was a child I was spending a lot of time outdoors with my parents and friends and was able to understand the world by myself rather than through the Internet. Travelling a lot and meeting new people helped me become a complete human being with a great creativity.

Finally, invention of computers made our kids less creative. Computers do everything instead of children. There is a variety of programs, which paint, sing, read and write with minimal human involvement. Our children rely on them too much nowadays - a fact, which also leads to non-development of their creative features. For example, at schools in my country kids learn drawing with the use of special computer programs. It is not hard to imagine to what extent it harms our children.

To sum up briefly, it is a fact that technological revolution makes our children less creative. Its explanation is quite simple: TV, the Internet and computers do not develop our children's skills of creative thinking.