Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past.

Happiness can be defined as a person's inner positive attitude towards facts and events of external life. This definition explains why some people correlate / connect happiness with the changes in our lives. Meanwhile, many others argue that changes in the world do not affect human happiness. Personally, I am prone to believe that the mentioned feeling does not depend on external factors. There are several reasons for that, which will be discussed in the following essay.

To begin with, psychologists assert that happiness originates from the nature of a human being. Each person is free to evaluate changes in the world and decide whether they satisfy him or her or not. This statement, among other things, means that the mere transformation of life conditions does not automatically result in the feeling of satisfaction or dissatisfaction leading to happiness or unhappiness. For example, in my case, I do not depend on life conditions, and my feeling of satisfaction is purely inner. Consequently, this is our nature that determines our moods, but not the outdoors events.

Also, the changes in the life seem to be both positive and negative. To be sure, life is changing significantly due to technological development, global warming, and so forth. However, those and other relevant developments have flaws and drawbacks simultaneously. For instance, the global warming phenomenon, with its obvious negative impact on the environment, has some positive aspects as well. Thus, in the effort to overcome its implications some distinct areas of science originated. Therefore, we should regard any changes from both positive and negative perspective.

Finally, the great majority of people regard any change as only positive event. This kind of people tries to see new opportunities in every change they encounter with. My own experience is an expelling example of this, as I regard even challenges of life as a chance to become better and build a better life. So, the changes itself /themselves/ may be a source of a huge satisfaction.

To sum up briefly, from my point of view, rapid transformations cannot by themselves cause unhappiness because happiness is primarily an inner oriented feeling and changes themselves have both positive and negative sides, and because any changes may serve as a permanent source of inspiration.