TPO 42- Workers are more satisfied when they have many different types of tasks to do during the workday than when they do similar tasks all day long.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

We spend more time at the work than everywhere else, and this makes our job either a source of joy for us, or a reason of our unhappiness. In this regard, personally, I am prone to belief that we are satisfied with our job only in case if it implies doing different things. I hold this opinion since the lack of diversity makes the work boring; and does not guarantee professional growth.

To begin with, repetition in our actions and behavior at work leads to our dissatisfaction. This is explained by the fact that we are curious creatures who always seek for something new to learn. The absence of novelty in any sphere, and, in particular, in our daily obligations, cannot bring to positive feelings. For example, I am a legal practitioner, and I work in a law firm. We deal with legal cases of citizens and entities in various spheres, such as family law, company law, restitution law, and so on. There is a principle in the organization of the work of our company, according to which, each lawyer has his or her area of specialty. In practice the latter means that each of the staff members acts only in one legal area, and, therefore, we practically face the same legal problems all the time. Although this condition is vital for rendering proper legal services, the work itself becomes boring in a short period of time. So, performing the same tasks is a quite boring thing.

Additionally, all of us dream of successful professional career which is necessary for both our professional and private lives. Meanwhile, in order to succeed we need to learn all the time and increase the level of our qualification. However, this is not feasible, if we do the same things all the time. For instance, in order to be promoted in the company I have worked for nearly 10 years, I had to ask the management to assign me tasks that would allow me /to/ learn new things. This indeed was the right way to hold a better position since by doing various things I became more experienced and could take on more responsibility. Consequently, the more you learn, the higher are the chances to succeed in a career.

To sum up briefly, our work takes a lot of time and energy from us, and in order to satisfy our needs it should be diverse and secure our professional growth.