TPO 52Do you agree or disagree?The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict.

Each society is governed by norms that regulate social relationships among its members, and the nature of those rules is determined by a variety of objective and subjective factors. In that regard, one of the main factors is the perception of the concept of freedom in a society which provides the ideological basis for rules that are expected to be followed by all members of community. At the same time, personally, I am prone to believe that nowadays the boundaries of the youngsters’ rights are wider that they were a few decades ago. I hold this opinion since young people have more rights and freedoms; and sanctions for breaking the rules by the representatives of young generation are softer than they used to be.

To begin with, the catalogue of rights which are exercised by young people has become broader. This is explained by the fact that the contemporary understanding of the idea of freedom implies guaranteeing some basic rights to all generations, and young people are not an exception in that sense. Today they may exercise even political rights from relatively young age and express their opinions about various social and political issues. For example, in my country teenagers may fully exercise the right to peaceful assembly starting from the age of 12. Therefore, in practice, we can see a lot of teenagers who have their own vision not only of their private lives, but also on political, cultural, economic and other issues. Thus, it is a fact that our children are entitled to do more nowadays than we were at their age.

Additionally, the system of legislation which stipulates procedures and punishments for young people who do not follow the rules has transformed radically during the last decades. Both the proceedings and the sanctions are less strict, and they are designed with the aim of considering the young age of delinquent teenagers. For instance, in my country we have incorporated a system of juvenile jurisprudence which is much softer compared to the ordinary proceedings. One of the novelties implemented is the possibility of delinquent youngsters to involve in community services instead of being imprisoned. Consequently, it would be just to state that young people are in a better position nowadays than they would be in the past.

To sum up briefly, the rules for young people become less and less severe. The explanation to this is twofold: first, they exercise more rights nowadays; second; the body of rules relating to their responsibility has become more liberal.