It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject

It is generally agreed that students cannot master all academic subjects simultaneously. In this regard, personally, I am prone to believe that it is better to choose on specific subject and to specialize in it. I hold this opinion since the competition in the labor market is harsh; specializing in one area is the right way to become a professional.

To begin with, today there are a lot of educational institutions which provide excellent education to a broad range of people. Moreover, the number of specialists in this or that area increases all the time. Consequently, it is harder to find a job for a young specialist than it was some a few decades ago. That is why employers value the ones who are specialized in specific and narrow areas since they do not need employees with merely broad range of knowledge. For example, when I was a student my choice was to specialize in the sphere of constitutional law and I was not paying too much attention to the other academic disciplines. As a result, after graduating I was immediately proposed a place in the Comparative law center since it needed narrow specialists in the field of constitutional law.

Additionally, a real professional is a person who has deep knowledge and skills in a concrete sphere. There are a lot of people that graduated from universities with broad knowledge of everything, but they cannot be valued in the professional community until they prove their superiority in a specific area. For instance, a friend of mine who is also a lawyer chose to specialize in the field of Criminal Procedure and he even performed his PhD in this area. Furthermore, he was also delivering lectures on this subject and wrote a book. This was his key to success since nowadays he is one of the respected and acknowledged specialists in the field of Criminal Procedure in my country. Thus, specialization is necessary for success.

To sum up briefly, we have a possibility to choose among subjects that we want to specialize in. However, it seems that choosing one subject is the best option since it helps find job easier and this is the precondition of becoming a full member of the professional community. Not only can good specialists find job easier, they can also become well-known among the professionals.