TPO 38 Writing IndependentDo you agree or disagree with the following statement?Leadership comes naturally: one cannot learn to be a leader.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays there are a lot of books, articles to read about leadership, and there are also courses available that claim to teach leadership. However, personally, I am prone to believe that leadership is a characteristic which comes naturally. I hold this opinion since the history of a /the/ mankind refutes the artificiality of this feature; books and other stuff teach only skills; and leadership is a feature that is born in struggle.

To begin with, our history from the ancient times to the present shows that people become leaders naturally. All the great leaders of the kingdoms, states are often people who even were not literate. Moreover, leadership emerges from the real life situations and cannot be taught. In general, it implies a long route that a person should pass. For instance, when I was a first-grade student at university, I was practically ignored by both the professors and the classmates. Only after studying hard and becoming one of the best students of the course, people started to notice /me/ and even copy me. So, there is much to do until a person becomes a leader or, in other words, one whose thoughts and behavior is copied by other people.

Additionally, it seems obvious that books, relevant courses may only develop some skills, but never can they transform a person to a leader. This is explained by the fact that characteristics such as intelligence, ability to make decisions and to implement them cannot pass to a person from books. Books only describe the features that are necessary for leadership, but they never can be enough for leadership. For example, a person who is well-aware of the peculiarities of making right decisions should be able to implement those abilities. Meanwhile, it is not always possible.

Finally, leadership is an acquired feature. In general, we become leaders if our lives are full of struggle, obstacles that hinder our growth, and so on. In this regard, no one may become a leader without being able to overcome difficulties. For example, a friend of mine is a well-known athlete in my country. However, in order to acquire fame he had worked hard for many years. So, leadership is born in struggles.

To sum up briefly, books and related staff are essential for understanding the concept of leadership. However, the reality only transforms a person to a leader since leadership is not acquired by reading books, all the leaders of our history are strong people naturally, and only permanent struggle have importance in that regard.