TPO 37 Do you agree or disagree with the following statements? Because people are busy doing so many different things, they do very few things well. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is very essential to be specialized in whatever you are doing to be productive. To have the most impact, it is very important to do anything that is done in the best way possible, and doing half things would never have a desirable result. I think these days people are doing so many different things that do are unable to do any of them well.

Firstly, by doing different things people can't focus and specialize in any of them. Any person has limited ability and time to learn. When someone is being constantly distracted by going to different directions of learning, they will not be able to focus on one thing and get the required practice to do it well. For example, I remember in my previous summer holidays I registered in four different educational classes including two programming languages, working with UNIX systems and software design course. Actually at the end of summer I did not really know any of these courses well enough to do independent work on them, but my friend Mina just attended UNIX systems class and dedicated the rest of her time to study and practice whatever has been taught in the class and at the end of a course she was so advanced in the course that our teacher offered a parttime job as a UNIX system administrator. So, by focusing on one thing and practicing a lot she had a very much better result than me.

Secondly, When you focus on some subject you will be able to observe every aspect of that subject and learn all there is about that. By learning everything about one subject, instead of jumping from one thing to the other thing, people will learn it very much deeper and will be able to perform better. For example, to do routine checkups of my car I usually go to a mechanic who knows something about every part of any car, but he is really unable to find root-cause of issues in my car or fix them. On the other hand, there is this guy, that has a small place at the corner and specializes in Pejout car's electrical systems. Although he does not know anything special about other parts of my car, he has a very deep knowledge on the car's electricity and can detect any kind of issues in the electricity system from a mile. Because of his specialization, he is very successful in his job and his income is some much more than the other person who just does check-ups. So, by going deeper in every subject and observing every aspect of it performance levels will increase exponentially.

In summary, doing different things stop people from doing a few things well. To specialize in something one should go deep in gaining every knowledge possible in that area and do lots of practice to get perfect on that one subject.