TPO- 54 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

By and large, the role of Governments in flourishing or abolishing any kinds of activities, in modern society which we live in, is undeniable. There are a plethora of people who are in the conviction that monetary expenditures should aim promoting art rather than athletic activities. While others take a radically different point of view, asserting that governments should financially support sports more than art. To the extent that my personal perspective is concerned, I accord with the second group. Among countless reasons which give adherence to my opinion, I will delve into the most conspicuous ones in subsequent paragraphs.

Firstly, the essence of democracy is, to take into account the common good. Sports by far, are more pervasively followed by people in comparison to art. Looking to commercial television shows, one can easily sense their tendency toward what people consider more entertaining, meaning sport. Seems preposterous for the governments, which are only means that people use to achieve their goals more conveniently, to invest less in what "the most" favors. Acting on their own fictions image of what is right, government in Iran decided to promote aesthetic forms, in the expense of sports abandonment. Failed teams soared the fire of anger and fierce in people and results were absolutely catastrophic. Sports fan poured into street after a humiliating failure of a wrestling team and five people died. This ascending trend of violence action were not to be restricted, more would have died. This act of aggression has never been seen regarding artistic failures. No one has blamed the government for the failure of its artists, since apparently little, cared enough.

Secondly, Promoting sport activities in a society can lead to a healthier one. Sports deal directly with people's wellbeing and can effect on other expenditures as well. Healthier people consume less medicine and therefore save subsides that government is obligated to spend on people's health system. Take my uncle for example, going to gym on regular bases, he hasn't struggled with any hardcore diseases that may interfere with his personal life for more than 1 day. Scientific discoveries also attest to the positive direct relations of sports and health. Seems far fetch for one to be recovered from flue due to his interest in art or his observation of any aesthetic form, but there are many who have done so by exercising.

In short, all the aforementioned reasons and explanations leads to the conclusion that governments should put the sports first in comparison to art, since they can gain public affection more efficiently and spend less money in total in the same breath.