TPO- 54 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Funding of government on things that would benefit our countrymen are integral. Such funding can go a long way if it will be allocated properly in organization that needed it the most. In my opinion, government supporting the athletics would greatly benefit our young generation such as sponsoring the Olympic team in the Philippines. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, sports here in the Philippines are not well funded by the government. Higher officials don't believe that sports have great positive effects on the overall well being of the players and the whole country. Many sports athletes are very talented but their talents and skills are not appreciated by the government. For example, Our Philippine team in weight lifting has a great athletes, she is really good but as she says in the interview in the local news our Philippine government did not shell out enough support for the weight lifting team. With regards to equipment, training facilities and financial support for the team. As a result, only one player shined in the Olympic event and she won Bronze medal. Right after her winning the Bronze medal, our president immediately responded to the plea of the athletes here in the Philippines. Winning in prestigious competition like in Olympics is a great honor and pride for our country. Hence, our athletes now can compete to the world without any fear of losing due to they are able to train with the utmost specialized trainer and equipment needed in order for them to succeed.

Secondly, funding for the arts are not that important compared to the giving support to the sports. As a matter of fact, many private companies are sponsoring many artists for their training and workshops for their crafts to be more useful, so, funding of the government is not really necessary. For instance, here in RCBC tower, every month the private companies have an art gallery exhibit for some artists and they help them to sell their paintings for the public. They allow the artists to use their venue for free as an art exhibit for the artists to showcase their talents and for the public to see their art. Many local artists are helped by this generous company and some of them are well know today as great painters in the Philippines. This illustrates that funding of the government is not needed by arts because many companies are willing to help them succeed in their careers.

To summarize, I strongly believed that the funds should be allocated in sports because only the government can help them to become the best athletes they can be and the government can benefit a lot if the Philippine team wins in foreign competitions.