TPO-08 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Television greatly impact the views and opinions of viewers whether adult or children. Moreover, it influence the way people act and think with regards to how they will adapt in situations. In my opinion, television advertising has bad impact on young minds of our children, thus, some of these are violence, aggression and unhealthy lifestyles. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, advertisements tends to attract young children to believe that certain products are beneficial for them, company misleads toddlers in choosing unhealthy food products by labeling it with fortified with vitamins and minerals, but, the truth it is loaded with numerous of sugar content and lacking vitamins and minerals. However, this kind of advert is still all over the world specifically in my home country, United States, but, government are making move toward this by black propaganda in advertising, they are banning products that are unhealthy and does not fit the standards of FDA and also license of these companies are suspended. For this reason, I strongly believe that adverts that are misleading should be looked into because it greatly influence the choices of young children.

Secondly, adverts sometimes are violent in nature, young boys are taught to fight bad people by using their sword and gun. They think these behavior are acceptable due to they watched it in television. Additionally, when parents buy this toys, they will play it with friends violently and aggressively. For instance, my nephew loves his pellet gun toy, so, he point and shoot his target practice and I noticed later on that he now shoot animals with his toy. I talked to him about that incidence in shooting his dog, he just said it is fun to shoot my puppy because he feels empowered and powerful. Accordingly, I think adverts should not be allowed to be seen by preschoolers, hence, it should be abolished in television due to it makes our children violent and aggressive.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that there are no good things advertisement can instill in children minds. This is because it can only result in violence, aggression, irritability and being unhealthy individual.