TPO 39 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the past, people has only few choices in choosing a career, whereas today individual has the luxury to chose which job is fitting to her personality and liking. Some people believe that in the past it is easier to know what career would lead to secure and successful future. In my humble opinion, I think that folks in past generation has difficulties to chose a career that will give them greener pasture. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explain in the following essay.

First of all, in the earlier generation individual has difficult lifestyle and it is hard for them to earn a living. They are only given couple of options for career such as agriculture and business and at that time growing crops and having successful business in unfavorable. My personal experience is a compelling example of this, my grandfather is a farmer and planting crops and harvesting it is crucial because they don't know if their yield will be successful or not. Majority of their harvest is a failure due to advancement in technology are not yet invented at their time. As a result, their farm lands are being infested by insects and pest which destroys their crops and they have no means to eradicate the pest, so only few crops are sold to the market and few profits are earned by the farmers. This illustrates that people in the past has only limited option with their career and having successful career is difficult to achieve.

Secondly, school education in the past are not given attention by the people. This is because school education are only for the rich and wealthy person. In addition, studying in school in the past are not diverse in contrast to today's education system where in primary school students will be prepared and educated to their future career. For instance, my grandfather only finished his sophomore year because he has no capability to fund himself to finish his college education. It is unfortunate that some of the people in my grandfather's generation suffer the same condition as he experienced. He did not have the opportunity to build a successful career because my grandfather don't have a good education. Moreover, he only knew to farm his land and harvest crop and it's very difficult at their time to harvest many crops and gain a lot of profit from it.

To summarize, I believe that in the earlier generation people has limited opportunity to build a successful career. This is because the chance to have a good job is difficult to achieve. Also, school education is very expensive and they can only have jobs that are low paying.