TPO 10 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As everything in life is like a coin that has two different sides, people must weight pros and cons before jumping to conclusions. After all, each and every question or topic requires careful deliberation in that there are always multiple variables to a truth. Some people believe that computer games has negative impact on children and it should be not allowed. In my humble opinion, I definitely agree that playing video games can cause harmful effects on our young generation. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, the majority of individuals would agree to the notion that spending many hours on computer can have bad effects to the health of our youngsters which can be detrimental. Moreover, children aged 10-15 are prone for addiction in video games due to peer pressure and they want to belong with their friends at school. As a result to this, they skip classes just to play their favorite console. For them it is normal not to attend class and go to computer shops to spend most of their time playing a game. Teenagers usually neglect their well being, often failing to take good care of their health. In other words, some of this teens spends 12-16 hours in front of the computer without eating and going to toilet. They are that addicted to playing games and waste their precious time in nonsense activities. A great example of this is my best friend, Alvin, the first thing he would do in his day is logging onto his computer and playing online games DOTA, after playing 6 hours straight he will eat and resume his game until night. He did not do anything productive for that day and wasted time doing nothing.

Secondly, children must be not allowed to play computer games because it posses health hazards. In addition to this, continuous playing games can cause violent and aggressive behavior to teens. It is because the nature of the games are fighting with each other, so, they feel that it is okay to do so at home or in school because they see it everyday when they are playing. For instance, my cousin, Mel play grand theft auto and after playing it for 2 months, he became aggressive and violent with his peers at school. He kicks and shout at them when he feels like doing and I think it is because of the games he usually play. I believe that there are no positive effects of playing games to individuals, thus, it must be banned most especially to children because they are helpless with this of situation and they are usually the victim with this of leisure activities.

In summation, yes, it's virtually impossible to provide a complete satisfying answer to an open ended question. Although the jury may be out on this essay topic, we can come to a mutual agreement that computer games posses threat to the lifestyle and way of living of our youth due to the reasons and details mentioned above.