TPO 42 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Workers are more satisfied when they have many different types of tasks to do during the workday than when they do similar tasks all day long.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In this modern era, the working conditions of employees are busier and have complex work loads. It is a controversial question whether workers are satisfied when they have many different tasks to do during the day than do similar tasks all day. In my humble opinion, employees enjoy doing different work load. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, employees spends majority of their time at work, thus, they must spend their eight hours of their time enjoying their job, so they will become productive at work. My personal experience is a compelling example of this, I work as a dialysis for 2 year and my work consist of same routinary activity and I did not enjoy doing it and it was boring. I shifted working in Intensive care unit, I did numerous task and learned different skills and procedures. I really enjoyed doing a lot of work because it is my way of learning and growing as an individual. As a result I become a competent and reliable nurse. This illustrates how important it is that different task should be assigned to employees to increasing their knowledge and skills their career.

Secondly, workers who are consistently challenged in their work are more productive and creative in their job. A sense of challenging work makes individual to work even harder in their career and gives them positive outlook in their job. For instance, I am working in Intensive care as a nurse, my working environment is very challenging because there are different doctors and patients who have to deal with everyday and everyday scenario is different from one another. I am pushed beyond my limits to strive even more to give my quality nursing care to my patients. In addition, being a critical nurse means you need give your 100% because there are many diseases and medicines you need to study. And it is difficult to squeeze in your tight schedule with studying and working at the same time. Also, it is rewarding at the end of the day to know that despite the difficulties in the job you still manage to finish your work well.

To summarize, I believe it is more satisfying to employees to be assigned to different task in work. This is because they will gain more knowledge and experience exposing themselves with different task.