Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It goes without saying that in this progressive world where we live, individuals are swamped with ups and downs of life. In order to get rid of the burdens of life, most people being old or young prefer to overwhelm themselves with technology and computer games for particular. There has been a controversial debate among psychologists about this very notion that whether video games are good for children or they are to be considered as a waste of time. Personally speaking, I strongly disagree with this idea and hold the view that playing games is beneficial for children. In what follows, the reasons to substantiate my point are provided.

To begin with, with the advancement of technology and the genesis of the internet, people’s desires and hobbies have also changed in order to keep pace with the modern improvement. No longer can we see children being attracted to traditional games which for the most part involved children physically. However, in the present era, children are inclined more to play computer games which are much more appealing, exciting and beneficial compared to the traditional games. It is undeniable that such modern games will improve children’s creativity, imagination, perception and intellectual abilities in the first place. There are many puzzle games through which children can learn and deepen their understanding of various fields. For instance, my seven year old niece plays more often a puzzle game under the name of “Find the Correct Animal” in which she has to learn different characteristics of animals and then on the basis of what she has learnt, she has to start finding the specific species in an island. This game is certainly useful and instructive for her, because studying all this information in a book is boring and is not as interesting as the electronic version in a game format. In the same vein, many psychologists subscribe to the idea that playing video games is mentally profitable for kids with different age range.

Furthermore, while many parents are against computer games and do not authorize their children to play them; there are an assortment of people who think the other way around. Having considered this idea, some parents expose their children to various online games while supervise them not to go to the wrong direction. According to them, playing some online games can enhance their children’s communicational and social relationships. Those games which need a group of virtual people to accomplish a stage in the game is the best example that can completely put the idea into a more vivid picture. Among all online games that got popular among youngsters because of its communicational aspect, “Clash of Clans” is the most glorious one. For a long time, children were intrigued by the game and were also fascinated with the friendly atmosphere which gave them the chance to start a relationship with various people from every corner of the globe. Having interviewed parents whose children were the number one follower of this game, it was revealed that not only this specific game provide children with a great atmosphere to make friends, but also helped them learn group works and unity.

In conclusion, having considered all the aforementioned reasons into account, it can be concluded that not all games are considered to be harmful or a waste of the time. Computer games can improve children’s creativity, imagination, understanding of different phenomenon, and last but not least, they can enhance their communicational relationships.