TPO 54 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state sponsored Olympic teams Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Recently, there is a popular debate about whether governments should spend more budgets on supporting athletics. From my perspective, I consider allocating the budget to other burning issues and I will elaborate on my viewpoint in the following paragraphs.

Admittedly, some people hold the view that sponsoring sports is a great way to encourage citizens to exercise. By participating in sports activities, people will start to be interested in exercise. However, fascinated to some thing does not means participate in person, even worst, in order to spend time to support athletics, people sacrifice time which originally would go to gym. As a result, sponsoring sports event might cause opposite effect.

Moreover, art is also more effective way to influence than supporting athletics events to develop a society even the consequences are not directly visible. Art events develop broadly among entire perspectives of society from individuals' awareness to diversifieds social ecology with copious texture of communities that ave significant value. A good example in this point is that our city government decided to improve city museum to larger scale which will allow present more collection. Museum is an efficient medium broadening citizen's awareness to art, through the art education from the project, the residents from various races and groups will have a chance to connect with others. Therefore, investing for the art is a brilliant decision for governments and would not cause any harm.

In addition, poverty is a problem need more attention. Narrow down gap between the rich and poor must be the priority of every governments, and by using budgets originally for sponsor sports, significant measure can be done, and the outcome of the government policy measure might have visible impacts. For instance, government should consider put money in use to build public facilities. Not only improve the quality of citizen's living environment, but also creating job opportunities.

From what has been discussed above, we can safely draw a conclusion that for government to sustainably develop a society, not financial funding sports will have more advantages.