TPO 54 Writing Independent

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is critically important that people can participate in an activity they like outside their regular life. Personally, I believe government should not invest more on the arts than the sports. I feel this for two reasons which I will explain in the following essay.

To begin with, a lot sports are simple and easy to participate in, which will keep people healthy. If government does not support sport, people may overlook their health condition and thus have a bad body. In addition,doing exercise could assist people to have a clear mind which is also vital to the mental health. My personal experience is a compelling illustration. Around five years ago, my brother along with me would spend all days studying and not have any exercise. Because we did not have enough exercise and outdoor activity, we both became feeble compare to our peers. Luckily, there was a program funded by our government to encourage students to do all kinds of sports. Despite being unskilled, we gradually gained confidence in the field and and even won some matches . As a result, we become much healthier and developed a huge enthusiasm for sports.

Furthermore, investing on sport could also create job opportunities which are beneficial to our economy. As government puts more money into sports, more people will become interested in the athletic event and participate in some specific field. People may even find their business partner when engaging in some sports . For instance, I am an enthusiastic about volleyball, and I met a lot friends who share the same passion with me. Since we all know this sport, we started a volleyball specific website at school. As the website became progressively popular at our community, we started to put advertisement on the website and turned it into profit. Moreover, some of us even received lot job offers from local newspaper office. Surprisingly, one of them even turned out becoming a real sport journalist Based on this experience, I strongly believe that when sport are being invested, more work possibility will also increase.

In conclusion, I strongly feel that more endowment should be put into sport than art. This is because sport is good for people's well-being when participating, and could increase the employment possibility that will benefit the society.