TPO 66 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement People who develop many different skills are more successful than people who focus on one skill only

In the last decade, people have started taking education very seriously. Many of them choose different subjects so that they can learn various contents related to many subjects before their graduation. But I would say, each person has different definitions of getting success in their life. Some people think that it is required to have various skillsets to acquire success. While others hold a different opinion that success comes only when people focus on one skill. From my perspective, the latter view carries more weight. I take the position on account for the following reasons.

Primarily, focusing on one skill helps a person to gain immense knowledge of the particular field. Additionally, People would definitely get good work experience sticking in a single specialty. Therefore, a person with a deep knowledge of a single subject and having a lot of working experience in the same field can be able to work efficiently and effectively. On the contrary, people who would try to gain knowledge for different majors might not have a single and steady job because they would waste their time trying to be experts in every field, and may not prove themself to work in one workplace. My cousin is a compelling example of this situation. When he was in university, he took pharmacy as his major subject. He worked as a pharmacist for a few years, however, later on, he started pursuing dentistry since he did not like working as a pharmacist anymore. As a result, he wasted his five precious years in order to complete dentistry and could not make a strong resume in one major field. Therefore, he had a hard time finding a good job when his friends were almost settled down in one field at the same time. Now, he realized that had he not changed his major earlier, he would be working as a pharmacist in a good position.

Another subtle point I want to deem here is that no one can deny the fact that staying determined in one subject would help to have a good command for that subject. People will be masters after working in a single field for longer years. Needless to say, they will make negligible mistakes since they have gone through various phases where they made many mistakes and learned from their own mistakes. This is why people who have survived from long years working in a one-field get promoted easily. To elaborate this more, my own life is very much related to this topic. I have been working as a software developer for ten years. I started my job as a junior developer from the same company, and I got promoted many times as I gained experience gradually. Now, my company promoted me as a manager because I am the only person who has a long-time work experience as a developer in my company. Hence, having long years of working experience in my field not only helped me to get promoted to a higher post but also, people started giving me a lot of respect at my workplace.

Lastly, having discussed the issue from this point of view, I rather look into it from another standpoint. Admittedly, if a person wants to be proficient, he must allocate a lot of his time educating himself for that subject. Nevertheless, it does not mean that the person does not learn new ideas and broaden his horizon in different fields. Researchers from UCLA university found that for being successful in life, people need to spend 70% of their total time on their specialized field, but the rest must be devoted to the related subjects.

All in all, I strongly believe that it is necessary to be focused in one field to get success in life. This is because people would get more job opportunities, and because it helps people to reach their goals.