tpo12- independent

Science has broad range. Trying to learn many academic subjects, will be very difficult, more like it could be impractical to learn a wide range of academic subjects.

But in this new mileniuum that we are living in, many new interdiciplinary majors are now being thought in universities, like Engineering Science, Cognitive Science, Bioengineering. Which in order for one person to truely master his or her major and make truely valuebale contribution to the scientific community, he or she has to become expert in more than a few academic subjects. For example, in Engineering Science, students have to have a good knowledge of mathematics, physics and also computational techniques that are mostly thought to computer science students.

But generally speaking, excluding the above example from our conversation, personally, I have to say specializing in a specific subject is more advantagous for a person than have basic understanding of wide veriety of subjects. Todays economy and needs experts in their field and even for experts, it is a very though competition. One person has to be very good at his job in order to have job security and have a satisfying life, because there are a lot of people that can do the same thing and the companies do not hesitate to replace not one hundred percent efficient employees.

I believe, in order for one to be great, his or her science has to like a dot on a page. That is actually a saying that I read by a iconic religious figure in Islam, Imam Ali. In his opinion true knowledge is like a dot, maybe because humans do not have the capacity to learn about everything in their limited lifetime.

The historic and religious aspect aside, it also makes sense to become specialized in a subject first before trying other things. Any specialization is important for a person's resume and that s why in high schools it is emphasized to students to choose their carriers with great care, because they will not have enough time in their life to come back and do another thing.