TPO21 – Independent: A/D? For success in a future job, the ability to relate well to people is more important than studying hard in school.

In order to achieve success in life people need to have certain qualities such as persistence, knowledge and ability to relate well with other people. However, in my view the most important quality to achieve success is to perform hard work in school.

First of all, hard work provides you with the tool of knowledge. When you study hard, you get good grades, you become more knowledgeable in your the field of education. This helps you in achieving success in your future job. For example, because I studied anatomy sincerely during my college days, I am able to diagnose my patients more effectively. The ability to get good along with my coworker wouldn't have helped me in making a correct diagnosis. So to become a successful doctor my knowledge is more helpful to me.

Furthermore, you land up in good career path. By studying hard, you get good grades. Because of that you get recruited in a prestigious company. The prime criteria to get into renowned company is your grades along with other requirements. For instance, while selecting candidates for an interview the first and foremost criteria they sort the candidates is their grades. Then other attributes are taken into consideration. Many companies reject candidates with less GPA. They might be good communicators but they didn't even get a chance to communicate face to face to prove themselves.

Finally, someone might argue that getting along with people is more important criteria to achieve success. I disagree this because not all job requires you to work with people. Some scientists, computer programmers, freelancers or professionals working from home doesn't work with people. They work in isolation. But, it is essential for them to have good knowledge in their respective field to have a successful career; which can be achieved by studying hard in school.

To conclude, ability to relate well is a plus point but studying sincerely in school is more essential for overall growth and success in future career.