TPO22 – Independent: A/D? Teachers should not make their political or social views known to students in classroom.

Pedagogical methodology of teachers, from primary school to university, is critically essential because it not only is the way to impart valuable knowledge to students but also plays a pivotal role in molding students' opinions about the world. Nowadays, whether teachers should make their social or political views known to students in the classroom has become a heated issue in society. As for my perspective, I am in favor of the idea of allowing teachers to give such comments.

First, drawing on my own experience, sometimes teachers' expressions about the society and policy add a wealth of fun to the class. By that I mean this teaching measure helps make serious class atmosphere easy so that students are able to learn through understanding. For instance, my history teacher's main way of delivery is to incorporate historical facts into his original thoughts of the ancient and current era, which gives students an entertaining and refreshing approach to have a better command of historical knowledge. In this way, he reached the aim to easily arouse students interest as well as decreased the difficulty of understanding the academic knowledge. Based on the belief that interest is the best teacher for students, I'm convinced that it's instructive to assist teaching by mentioning teachers' social or political views at class.

On top of that, teachers should not only be the ones who inculcate knowledge but help mold students, otherwise, what the students receive at school is not education but schooling-i.e., teachers' social or political views about the world could at least instill some high moral values like kindness and generosity. Once my political teacher taught me the significance of calmness by discussing the phenomenon that lunatic crowds swarmed the street to destroy foreign-branded cars due to their so-called patriotism. Her personal statement, from then on, taught me to show my love for my country rationally-do something practically for its prosperity. Furthermore, probably, teachers’ comments on the truly fierce world could have such impressive impact on students, particularly those in college, when they are seeking future blindly, that aspire them to mark their words as a wind vane in their life forward. In short, teachers' social or political views could at times induce children and youth to grow up mentally.

Granted, some of their conceptions might be inappropriate for students who are mostly psychologically immature to accept; nevertheless, we are supposed to believe that the majority of teachers are well-trained to deliver lectures properly as long as parents choose regular schools for their children, even if they apply their own views about society or political to class. Actually, some of the views are so thought-provoking that could breed a meaningful debate within the whole class, as well as improve the interactions between teachers and students. Suffice to say it that those views could be really meaningful.

On the basis of above statements, teachers' social and political views could aid in educating students in class.