tpo34

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Educating children is a more difficult task today than it was in the past because they spend so much time on cell phones, online games, and social networking Web sites.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the Internet develops, more and more young people have the opportunity to use a smartphone and connect with the world. Many parents state that because of the bunch of time young people spent on social media, video games and so on, it will be more difficult to educate them than before. However, as a college student, I think their concern was misplaced.

First, parents can make use of the Internet and cell phone to educate young people better than before. In order to educate children, parents should pay more time and accompany with students. However, because of the school issues, many young people would spend more time with their classmates and teachers in school than their parents. In this way, by using a cell phone and some social media parents can connect with their children and communicate with them any time and any places. For example, my university is away from my home; and my mother always shares me some educational essays and heuristic movies through social media, such as we chat and Twitter. My classmates told me they had similar experiences with me; we both thought cell phone and social media help us a lot to communicate with our parents and receive education as an effective tool.

Moreover, students can learn many new things and knowledge from cell phone and websites. We all know that people from different countries are connected by the Internet. Nowadays, young people can use the Internet to expand their horizon and make friends with peers around the world, and they definitely can learn a lot from them. They can use YouTube to see videos and vlogs taken by others, they can use iBook to read works in different languages, they can use ROTTEN TOMATOES to find their favorite movies. My sister Sally can speak three different second languages and she learned them by watching videos on YouTube in different languages and chat with native people in twitter.

Granted, it might be more difficult for the parents who are using the traditional way to educate their children, such as expand the knowledge or moral code mechanically. And also young people may get addicted to some video games more easily. However, parents can lead their children in a proper way and take advantage of the Internet.

In conclusion, educating children should not be a harder task today than past, for we have more efficient tools and more abundant source of information. As long as parents and young children use it wisely, internet and social network websites will help us to educate children.