TPO43Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?•Interrupt and correct the mistake right away.•Wait until the class or me

Nowadays, it is possible that professors or teachers on the meeting says something incorrect because everyone might makes mistakes. In my opinion, I would wait until the class or meeting is over and the people are gone, and then talk to the teacher or meeting leader.

First of all, pointing out the mistake is necessary. Because the knowledge should be respected, we have to conform to facts in the world and principles concluded by ancestors, which suggests we must admit the power of knowledge and guarantee the accuracy of the information. Plus, indicating the error would help the teacher correct the mistake and avoid imparting wrong information to students. For example, last semester I took a course named Introduction to Database. On one class, when the professor discussed the transaction of the database management system, he incorrectly assumes that transactions executed is automatically summit. However, it is inconsistent with the statement on the textbook that transactions are finished by the system after recording them in a log. I checked the relevant information on the Internet immediately and it implied that the professor made a mistake. I talked to the professor after the class about the mistake and he praised on me of my meticulous spirit of studying. Then he corrected his mistake on the next class, which rendered students accurately learn the knowledge. Thus, if I say nothing instead of indicating the mistake, a myriad of students would remember the wrong information, which would be harmful to their grades and even career. In this way, the knowledge is completely tainted.

Furthermore, talking to the teacher or meeting leader after the class or meeting is beneficial to both of you. Because if you interrupt and correct the mistake right away, you would be impolite to the meeting leader or the teacher and sometimes it would engender a fierce conflict on the class, which is inimical. For instance, last week I took a class about digital system. The teacher wrongly considered that the adder consists of 4 AND gates and a senior immediately stood up to correct the teacher’s error and enormous students joined in, which made the teacher pretty angry. Then there is an aggressive debate between teachers and students. Eventually, the teacher correct the error after class and there students also obtain punishments for disrespect. If the student could talk to the teacher after class, the teacher would quite appreciate and student may make a good impression to the teacher, which is helpful to the student. At the same time, the teacher may not feel awkward and uncomfortable on the class. Thus, talking to the teacher or meeting leader after the class or meeting is the best option.

In conclusion, pointing out the mistake is obligatory and indicating it after class or meeting is polite and beneficial.