At universities and colleges sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support Do you agree or not with the statement

Most people in the world agree to the fact that social activities and sports play a crucial role in the overall development of the student along with the academics. Personally, I believe that universities and colleges must allocate equal funds for social activities, sports, and classes, libraries. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, sports and social activities increase the reputation of the college. For example, my university, SRM University, is mainly recognized by people for its alumni, who excelled in the field of sports and public service. Our university promoted sports equally as academics. It provided many facilities and support for students, which helped us to develop. For instance, R Ashwin, a famous Indian spinner is an alumnus of our university. He is the second Indian spinner to take 600 test wickets. He is very thankful to the university for supporting him both financially and mentally. Having great people as alumni plays a crucial role in attracting potential candidates to the university, who in turn provide the university with their excellence and help in increasing the reputation of the university. Hence, Universities should allocate an equal share of their financial resources to sports.

Secondly, Sports and Social activities help students to improve physically and mentally. Sports help students in mainly developing qualities like competitiveness, teamwork, and increasing the never-give-up attitude. Social activities mainly make students improve their awareness of the problems that society faces, and this makes them develop qualities of empathy, kindness, helping nature, and standing for themselves and for others. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. A few years back, when I was studying at the university, I was the captain of the university's cricket team. I used to go to training every day provided by our university. The trainer there was very much dedicated to his duty, he was the first person to come and the last person to leave the training grounds. I was motivated by my university’s effort and my trainer’s dedication, which made me work harder. Working hard there improved my physical abilities to a great extent. Being a captain, I developed the skills of team management, motivating other people, communicating my thoughts in a crisp and clear manner.

In conclusion, Universities must do equal allocation of financial support for sports, social activities and library, classes. This is because it increases the reputation of the university and helps the students to develop many essential skills that are useful in the long run.